Brunei Darussalam had been a British protectorate since 1888, and became an independent sovereign Sultanate on 1 January 1984. Brunei Darussalam is governed on the basis of a written constitution, which came into effect in 1959. Under the constitution, His Majesty the Sultan has executive authority and will be assisted and advised by 5 constitutional bodies, namely, the Council of Succession, the Council of Cabinet Ministers, the Privy Council, the Religious Council and the Legislative Council.

The present Head of State and Head of Government is His Majesty Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah Mu’izzaddin Waddaulah, the 29th monarch in succession to the throne. His Majesty is also the Prime Minister heading a team of Cabinet ministers.

Brunei Darussalam has adopted the Melayu Islam Beraja ( MIB ), or Malay Islamic Monarchy concept as a national philosophy. The MIB philosophy incorporates Brunei Malay culture, Islamic principles and recognition of the monarchy system as a way of life of the Bruneian people.

To know more about Brunei Government please visit the official website.





Tourism Development Department (TDD) was established in 2005 under the Ministry of Primary Resources and Tourism where the main responsibility is to develop tourism industry in the country.

More information about Tourism Development Department can be found on this website: